Bank Holidays 2023 in India: Date, Day and Types of Holidays

Stay informed about Bank Holidays in India with our up-to-date list. Plan your schedule and financial transactions effectively using our comprehensive guide to Indian public holidays."


In India, a bank holiday refers to a particular public holiday designated to banks and financial organizations. Not every one of the public holidays is deemed a bank holiday. The Central/State Governments or Union Territory governments decide bank holidays in compliance with the Negotiable Instruments (NI) Act of 1881. There are certain times when the bank declares holidays apart from the events that have been mentioned below. In case this happens then the notice is published beforehand and it is brought to the attention of the bank staff and the citizens. Below is a general list of 42 common bank holidays observed in India.

List of Bank Holidays in India

Date Day Holiday
14 January Saturday Second Saturday
26 January Thursday Republic Day
28 January Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 February Saturday Second Saturday
25 February Saturday Fourth Saturday
8 March Wednesday Holi
11 March Saturday Second Saturday
25 March Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 March Thursday Ram Navami
4 April Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti
7 April Friday Good Friday
8 April Saturday Second Saturday
14 April Friday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
22 April Saturday Fourth Saturday
22 April Saturday Id-ul-Fitr
1 May Monday May Day/Labour Day
5 May Friday Buddha Purnima
13 May Saturday Second Saturday
27 May Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 June Saturday Second Saturday
24 June Saturday Fourth Saturday
29 June Thursday Bakrid/Id-ul-Zuha
8 July Saturday Second Saturday
22 July Saturday Fourth Saturday
29 July Saturday Muharram
12 August Saturday Second Saturday
15 August Tuesday Independence Day
26 August Saturday Fourth Saturday
7 September Thursday Janmashtami (Vaishnva)
9 September Saturday Second Saturday
23 September Saturday Fourth Saturday
28 September Thursday Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad
2 October Monday Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
14 October Saturday Second Saturday
24 October Tuesday Dussehra
28 October Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 November Saturday Second Saturday
25 November Saturday Fourth Saturday
27 November Monday Guru Nanak’s Birthday
9 December Saturday Second Saturday
23 December Saturday Fourth Saturday
25 December Monday Christmas Day


Also Read: Best Credit Card in India 2023: Joining Fee, Annual Fee, Card Benefits and More

Types of Bank Holidays

In India, there are several types of bank holidays, each designated for specific reasons or occasions. The common types of bank holidays in India include:

National Holidays:

These are observed nationwide and include days like Republic Day (January 26th), Independence Day (August 15th), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2nd).

Festival Holidays:

These holidays are celebrated based on various religious and cultural festivals such as Diwali, Eid, Christmas, and Holi. The dates for these holidays vary each year based on the lunar calendar or religious observations.

Regional Holidays:

Some holidays are specific to certain states or regions, such as Pongal in Tamil Nadu or Onam in Kerala. These holidays are observed only in the respective regions.

Public Holidays:

These are holidays that are recognized by the government and banks are closed. They can include various events, historical commemorations, or observances.

Bank Holidays:

These are specific to the banking sector and include holidays like the annual closing of accounts, which usually occurs on April 1st.

Second and Fourth Saturdays:

In many parts of India, banks remain closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month, as part of the “Saturday banking holiday” system. However, some banks remain open on the second Saturday while closing on the fourth, or vice versa.

Restricted Holidays:

Some organizations and institutions, including banks, may provide a list of optional holidays or restricted holidays. These allow employees to choose specific days off based on their preferences or cultural beliefs.


How many bank holidays are there in 2023 in India?

There are 60 bank holidays in 2023 in India.

Is all Saturday bank holiday from 2023?

No, Not all Saturdays are bank holidays from 2023. Indian banks are usually non-operative on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month, as well as every Sunday.

Why is it important to know the bank holidays for 2023?

It is important to know the dates of bank holidays for 2023 so that the people who have worked at banks or are either working at the bank, can plan their visits accordingly. It is to be noted that people can avail themselves of online banking facilities even on the days when the banks are closed.

How are bank holidays determined?

The Central/State Governments or Union Territory governments determine bank holidays in compliance with the Negotiable Instruments (NI) Act of 1881. Usually, the banks are closed in case of public holidays, Sundays, Certain Saturdays of the month,  and other gazetted holidays apart, from that it is the work of the officials to decide the bank holidays.

On which days are all the banks in India closed?

All the banks in India are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays as well as every Sunday. 

Are all state holidays applicable to all the banks?

No, not all state holidays are applicable to all the banks around India. Usually, the set of rules and specific restrictions in accordance with the different states decides upon the state holidays and for this reason, it might differ from state to state. While certain state holidays might be applicable to all the banks in a particular state at the same time they might not be applicable to the similar branches of the same banks in some other state.