The Game Awards To Have at Least a Dozen “First Time” Game Reveals, and a Big Xbox Announcement

It looks like we're in for a jam-packed show!

The Game Awards 2020

The Game Awards is a highly anticipated show. It has the highest viewership for any gaming event, even surpassing E3. It has also become an event where many big game announcements are made, and 2020 is looking no different.

We have seen The Game Awards nominations announced recently. However, the two-and-a-half-hour show will have a lot more exciting things than just the awards. Latest reports say that The Game Awards 2020 will have at least a dozen first time reveals. Additionally, we could be seeing a reveal from Xbox too.

The Game Awards 2020 To Have a Ton of New Game Reveals and an Xbox Announcement

Producer of The Game Awards, Geoff Keighley, has been doing promotional runs for this year’s edition. There are bits and pieces about what’s coming this year, but there seem to be two big takeaways.

In a Reddit AMA, Geoff was asked how many games are to be announced at The Game Awards this year. Here’s what his response was:

“I think there are a good dozen+ games that will be announced/revealed at the show for the first time.”

Well, over a dozen new games is definitely going to be an exciting sight. The second big takeaway we have is from Jeff Grubb, games journalist at VentureBeat. He revealed on his GamesBeat podcast that Xbox is going to have something for The Game Awards 2020, according to VGC. He said:

“Microsoft has something coming to The Game Awards, I know that much.”

Xbox has been dropping hints here and there about The Game Awards. Even the December update announcement for Xbox Game Pass ended with a “See you at the Game Awards friends!”

So what could be the big announcement from Xbox? It seems too early for another acquisition to be announced. It won’t be something about Halo: Infinite, either. The possibilities are wide, given the number of studios and game IPs Xbox owns, but the announcement is bound to be big.

The Game Awards 2020 will air on Thursday, December 10 from 3.30pm PT / 6.30 pm ET / 11.30 pm GMT. For India, the timing is December 11, 2020, 5 am IST.

Stay tuned to us for more on The Game Awards.

Thanks for reading till the end of this article. For more such informative and exclusive tech content, like our Facebook page