Twitter Account Delete: How to Permanently Delete Twitter Account or Temporarily Deactivate It

If you want to leave Twitter for good, then follow these steps to delete it forever!

0

Twitter might not have the same user base as Facebook or Instagram, but still boasts over 200 million daily active users across the globe. With over one billion downloads on Android, the app is one of the most popular social media platforms in the world. However, if you are planning to take a break or want to completely remove your account from the platform, there is a way to do that as well. 

In this article, we will be taking a look at how to delete your Twitter permanently or deactivate it temporarily. Also, we will take a look at how to get back your old username once the name is permanently deleted. Here is our step by step guide on how to deactivate—or delete—your Twitter account.

Also Read: Twitter Video Download: How to Download Twitter Videos to Your Android, iOS Mobile Phones and Laptop

How to Temporarily Deactivate Your Twitter Account on Android and iPhone

Here’s how you can easily deactivate your Twitter account on Android or iPhone. The process for both the platforms are the same, so you can refer to this guide:

  1. Open the Twitter app.
  2. Click on your profile photo in the top left corner.
  3. Select “Settings and privacy”.
  4. Click on “Your account”.How to Temporarily Deactivate your Twitter account on Android and iPhone
  5. Select “Deactivate Account” and carefully read all the information. 
  6. Click on “Reactivation period” and select either 30 days or 12 months depending on your requirement. 
  7. Click on “Deactivate”
  8. Enter your password and click on the  “Deactivate” button. 

Also Read: Twitter Blue Tick Verification Live Again, Here’s How to Get Verified

How to Temporarily Deactivate Your Twitter Account on PC?

If you want, you can also deactivate your Twitter account using the browser. To that, you need to follow these steps:

  1. Open Twitter.com.
  2. Click on the More icon.How to Temporarily Deactivate your Twitter Account on PC
  3. Select “Settings and privacy” from the drop-down menu.
  4. Go to the “Your account” tab and select “ Deactivate your account”.
  5. Select either 30 days or 12 months as a reactivation period depending on your requirement.
  6. Read the account deactivation information and click “Deactivate”.
  7. Enter your password and confirm by clicking the deactivate account button.

Also Read: How to Delete Your Facebook Account, Page and Group in Easy Steps?

How to Delete your Twitter Account?

Before we get started with the process, it is important to understand the difference between deactivating and deleting the Twitter account. Deactivating your Twitter account is the first step to completely deleting your account. The deactivation period lasts for 30 days and within those 30 days, you will be able to get your account back. If you do not access your account within 30 days, your Twitter account will be deleted.

Once your account is deleted, it will no longer be available on the Twitter platform – which means you won’t be able to reactivate your previous account and you won’t have access to any old Tweets.

How to Reactivate your Twitter Account?

If you have already deactivated your Twitter account, all you have to do is just log in to Twitter via Web or the Android or iOS app to reactivate it. As long as you are signing in within your reactivation period (30 days), you will be taken to your Twitter profile. 

  1. Sign in to Twitter on the web or app.
  2. Enter ID and password.
  3. Before you sign in, you will get a  notice asking you to confirm if you want to reactivate your account.
  4. Choose “Reactivate”. 

Once this is done, you will be redirected to your home screen. Twitter may take a while to restore all your tweets, likes, and followers. 

Also Read: WhatsApp: How to See Deleted Messages on WhatsApp?

How to Re-Use your Username on Twitter Once it is Permanently Deleted?

Once your account is permanently deleted, the username of the deleted Twitter account becomes available for any other user on the platform. However, there is a way to get back your username even after the account is permanently deleted. This trick is a bit of a risk as we can’t guarantee a 100% chance to regain the username, but should be worth a shot if you want to get back your old username. 

  1. Before deactivating your Twitter account, change your username. 
  2. Open “Settings and privacy” on the Twitter app. 
  3. Tap on “Account Information”.
  4. Select “Username” and change it to something else. How to Re-Use your Username on Twitter Once it is Permanently Deleted
  5. Next, follow the above steps to deactivate/delete your account. 
  6. Once the account is permanently deleted and you want to come back to Twitter, use your old username to sign up to Twitter. (The username will be available as long as no one else has claimed the same.)

These were the ways to deactivate, delete, and retain the username on Twitter even after permanently deleting. If you have found this guide useful, be sure to share this with people who are willing to take a break from the platform or delete it permanently. 

Thanks for reading till the end of this article. For more such informative and exclusive tech content, like our Facebook page