WhatsApp Chats can Now be Set to Disappear by Default

The new update also brings more control over disappearing messages.

0
WhatsApp Disappearing Messages

WhatsApp has added several new features to enhance user experience and offer more control over privacy over the past few months. Back in November 2020, WhatsApp announced disappearing messages which gave users an option to delete all messages automatically after 7 days. Now, WhatsApp is adding more options to disappearing messages and also the ability to choose disappearing messages by default for chats.

From the initial launch in November 2020 to now, WhatsApp users could only set disappearing messages for individual chats or group chats with 7 days disappearing period. Now, with the new update rolling out, users will get more durations option for disappearing messages 一 in addition to the existing 7 days, users will get 24 hours and 90 days options. Along with this, you will also get the Off option which stops automatically deleting messages.

In a group chat, any group member can turn disappearing messages on or off. However, the group admin can change group settings to allow only admins to turn disappearing messages on or off.

Further, WhatsApp users will now have the option to turn on disappearing messages by default for all new chats. When this feature is enabled, all new one-on-one chats you or another person start will be set to disappear at your chosen duration. And, while creating a new group WhatsApp has added a new feature that lets you turn it on for groups you create. These two new features are optional and will not impact or delete any of the existing chats.

Once you choose to enable disappearing messages, WhatsApp will also notify the person on the chat which will make things clear. WhatsApp also allows you to quickly switch back to regular chat which doesn’t automatically delete messages.

To get started with this new feature, you need to follow the following steps:

  • Open WhatsApp
  • Tap on the three-dot menu icon on the top right
  • Tap Settings > Account
  • Tap on  Privacy
  • Select ‘Default Message Timer’

The update seems to be rolling out now and all users will receive the update in the coming days.

Thanks for reading till the end of this article. For more such informative and exclusive tech content, like our Facebook page