Instagram: How to Block or Unblock Someone on Instagram

Instagram allows you to block or restrict an account. Here's how you can block, unblock or restrict a profile.

How to block or unblock someone on instagram

Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms when it comes to sharing updates, photos, videos, and more with your loved ones. The platform allows you to interact with your friends’ posts, videos, stories and reels. However, sometimes things go not as planned. There are instances when you get unwanted messages from people you don’t know. Moreover, if you have an open profile, they might have received some type of explicit comment from other users on this platform.

This is quite a problem when it comes to Instagram. Although the company says that it is actively working to remove abusive and hateful content from the platform, it is not possible to micromanage the problem. So, what you should do when you receive such kinds of messages or comments? Don’t worry, Instagram has a block option that keeps you away from such types of profiles. And, if you don’t want them to do a complete cut-off, Instagram has a Restrict feature as well. Let’s see what these features are exactly and how can you block or restrict a profile on Instagram:

Also Read: Instagram Web: How to Post Photos and Videos from Instagram Web Version on Desktop

How to Block Someone on Instagram

To block a person or an account on Instagram, follow these steps:

  1. Login to your account on Instagram and select a profile you want to block.
  2. Now, click on three dots on top right of their profile and tap on Block.
  3. It will show you two different options that you can choose accordingly. You will be asked to block the profile and the second option includes blocking the profile along with new accounts that they might create in the future. 
  4. Once chosen, tap on Block and their profile will be blocked from you.

Also Read: Instagram: How to Change or Reset Instagram Password on Desktop and Mobile

How to Check the Block List on Instagram

Here’s how you can check your block list on Instagram on your smartphone:

  1. Login to your account on Instagram app and go to your profile section.
  2. Click on the three bars on the top right and click on Settings.
  3. Go to Privacy and find the Blocked Accounts option under the Connections menu.
  4. Open it and you can now see a full list of accounts you blocked.

Also Read: Instagram Account Delete: How to Delete Instagram Account Permanently or Deactivate Temporarily

How to Unblock Someone on Instagram

If you have blocked a profile on Instagram and want to unblock them now, here’s how to do it:

  1. Login to your account on Instagram app and go to your profile section.
  2. Click on the three bars on the top right and click on Settings.
  3. Go to Privacy and find the Blocked Accounts option.
  4. Open it and find the account you want to unblock.
  5. Click on the Unblock option, a confirmation message will appear. Click on Unblock again and the account you want will be unblocked.

Also Read: Instagram Reels: How to Make Reels Videos on Instagram

Don’t Want to Block? Here’s How to Restrict Someone on Instagram

If you don’t want to block an account, but don’t want them to get the full information about your profile, the Restrict feature comes in handy in such a situation. Instagram introduced the Restrict feature back in October 2019 to protect one against bullying. Once you restrict an account their chat will move to message request and they won’t be able to check if you have read their message. Moreover, they cannot see when you come online and you will also not receive any notifications from them. No one will not be able to see the restricted person’s comment on your post till the comment is approved by you. If you want to restrict an account, here’s how you can do it:

  1. Login to your account on Instagram and select a profile you want to restrict.
  2. Now, click on three dots on top right of their profile and tap on Restrict.
  3. A confirmation message will appear, click on the Restrict Account button.

That’s it, the profile you selected will be restricted.

Also Read: Instagram: How to Change or Reset Instagram Password on Desktop and Mobile

What Happens When you Block Someone on Instagram?

You might be wondering about what happens when we block an account on Instagram. Once you block an account on Instagram, they cannot see your profile, your follower counts or post numbers. Their likes and comments on your posts will be removed and even if you unblock them, they won’t be restored. They won’t be able to mention or tag you in any post. Neither you nor them will be able to see each other’s Instagram stories.

Talking about the messages, if you have a personal chat with the blocked account, it will remain there with an ‘Instagrammer’ tag and neither of you will be able to send messages to each other. If you are in a group with the blocked person, you will be able to see the messages from the blocked person in the group. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the difference between Blocking and Restricting Someone on Instagram?

Restricting means limiting some of the features of their activities from your profile. They can’t message you directly or see if you have read their message or not. The comments will be shown to them until you approve it. However, they will still be able to follow you or view your new posts. While blocking means a complete cut-off from their profile. Once blocked, they cannot communicate with you or check your profile.

Also Read: TBH on Instagram: What Does It Mean, Full Form and More Such Trending Terms

What Happens to Messages When you Block Someone on Instagram?

Messages will be the only thing that will remain after you block an account. Once you block an account, it will remain there with the Instagrammer tag and you still will be able to read all your old conversations. However, you will not be able to send new messages to each other. 

If you are a part of the same group in which they are, you will be asked to leave or stay, if you choose to stay, you will be able to see their new messages and vice versa.

When you Block Someone, Does their Likes and Comment Disappear?

Yes, once you block someone, their likes and comments will disappear from each post. Similarly, your likes and comments on their posts will disappear. However, if you like or comment on a public account or a private account that you and a blocked account mutually follow, then the blocked person will still be able to see those interactions. 

Thanks for reading till the end of this article. For more such informative and exclusive tech content, like our Facebook page


Shubham is a Correspondent & Social Media Executive. He started his journey from social media but now writes news stories, features, reviews, how-tos, and makes web stories. Moreover, he makes short videos for MSP Shorts and Instagram. When not doing any of the above mentioned stuff, you can find Shubham watching animes or scrolling through memes. Mail your requests at Shubham@mysmartprice.com