- iOS 17 was announced at WWDC 2023.
- The new iOS update is currently in beta.
- Apple will release iOS 17 for all eligible devices later this year.
Apple announced iOS 17 earlier this year at the Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC) 2023. Apple released the beta version of iOS 17 to those who have signed up for the developer programme. The stable release will likely roll out in September. The new iOS update did not get a major design overhaul but did introduce some new features. Apple did announce some of the new iOS 17 features during the keynote. Now that the developer beta is out, some unannounced/ hidden iOS 17 features have started surfacing online.
One of the new iOS 17 spotted in the developer beta might be very useful if you forgot your iPhone password after resetting it. Apple has reportedly introduced a new feature that gives users the option to reset an iPhone’s new passcode with the previous passcode for up to 72 hours after the change is made. Here’s how the iPhone lock screen password reset feature will work:
Forgot iPhone Password? Here’s How iOS 17 Might Save Your Data
If you are someone who forgets their iPhone’s new lock screen password, the new password reset feature of iOS 17 might be a saviour. According to a MacRumors report, the new iOS update, which currently is in beta, is giving users the option to reset an iPhone’s new passcode with the previous passcode for up to 72 hours after the change is made.
If you enter an incorrect password within 72 hours after it is reset, there will be an option to reset the passcode in the Settings app. Users will see a “Forgot Passcode?” Option at the bottom of the screen if they enter an incorrect passcode. Tapping on the option will redirect the user to another screen with a “Try Passcode Reset” option. Once the user taps on this option, the iPhone will allow the user to enter the previous passcode and create a new passcode. The new iOS 17 feature will at least help users reset their iPhone passcode again if they forget it within the first 72 hours of the change.
As a security measure, users can choose to disable the feature by tapping on the “Expire Previous Password Now” option. However, if you forget your passcode or enter an incorrect one multiple times, Apple currently disables the device for a few minutes, which later extends to a permanent lock until the iPhone is put in recovery mode. Recovery mode allows users to erase the iPhone, giving them access to set it up again. After you erase your iPhone, you can restore your data and settings from a backup. If you didn’t back up your iPhone, you can set it up as a new device and then download any data that you have in iCloud.
As mentioned above, the feature is currently in beta. Apple will release the new update to all users later this year. Eligible iPhone models will be able to download and install the new iOS update mostly from September.